Structure & Governance

The Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite (AASR) of each country is governed by a Supreme Council. There is no international governing body - each Supreme Council in each country is sovereign unto itself. In the U.S. there are two Supreme Councils:


  • The Northern Masonic Jurisdiction (NMJ) is headquartered in Lexington, MA. The NMJ includes the states of Connecticut, Delaware, Illinois,  Indiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan,       New Jersey, New Hampshire,  New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania,    Rhode Island, Wisconsin and Vermont. The NMJ refers to state organizations as Councils of Deliberation and the local bodies as Valleys.


  • The Southern Jurisdiction (SJ) is headquartered in Washington, DC at the House of the Temple. The SJ encompasses the other 35 statesin the US. The SJ refers to state organizations as Orients and the local bodies as Valleys.


The Orient of Alaska is part of the AASR, Sourthern Jurisdiction.